I. Jordan has announced their debut album. I Am Jordan is out May 10 via Ninja Tune. “Real Hot n Naughty” leads the LP, and it features a vocal turn from the actor and rapper Felix Mufti, whom Sex Education fans will recognize as It Boy Roman. In the video, Jordan and Mufti whip up a party in a bingo hall; watch it go down below.

Jordan said in press materials, “A large part of the reason why Felix and I instantly bonded is because of our queer working-class backgrounds, and our pride around that as well. Our aim with this track is to make a real queer northern dance anthem. A lot of working-class, northern humour is ‘things are a bit shit, but whatever. We’ll take the piss.’”

The album, Jordan added, “is about joy.” They continued, “It’s about my joy as a trans person, and trans joy generally, working with trans people, making all this fun music together.” The new video, they said, “connected to our upbringing and spaces we spent a lot of time in when we were growing up. Sprucing them up and reclaiming them to be full of queer and trans joy felt important and symbolic to me as it connected two important parts of my identity that aren’t often merged together. We wanted to make something fun, cute and cheeky and fuck all the tories.”

All products featured on Pitchfork are independently selected by our editors. However, when you buy something through our retail links, we may earn an affiliate commission.

I Am Jordan:

01 When Lights Flash
02 Casino High
03 Real Hot n Naughty [ft. Felix Mufti]
04 The Countdown [ft. Taahliah]
05 Butterlick [ft. Sister Zo]
06 Reification and Pathetic Fallacy
07 People Want Nice Things
08 Round n Round
09 The Woodpecker
10 7 Degrees of Despondent
11 Close to You
12 Rapt Finis


Source link


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *